Sunday, May 19, 2024

Richmond Galle emerge champions

Richmond School led by way of Malsha Tharupathi emerged champions of the inter faculty beneath 19 department one Tier A cricket match once they beat Trinity on first innings the day prior to this on the SSC grounds.

Richmond took main honours on the 3 day recreation whilst Trinity scored 203 all out of their first innings and Richmond made daring answer to attain 304 all out with 100 runs lead.

Trinity performed significantly better in the second one innings scoring 254 for 8 wickets declared and Richmond needed to get not possible goal of 150 runs in 11 overs and so they had been 36 for 1 wicket at just about finish the sport with a no choice. Richmond School emerged champions with the primary innings win.

The 3rd day batting honours took by way of Trinity whilst Nationwide beneath 19 participant Supun Waduge scored combating knock of 96 in spite of everything out with leg spinner Yuri Koththiogoda taking the prized wicket to make the leap forward.Tharana Wimaladharma additionally scored an invaluable knock of 57.

At shut Richmond had been 36 for 1 wicket and Richmond changed into the champions on the apex faculty match of beneath 19 department 1 Tier A. In reality that is the primary time Richmond gained Tier A department one championship beneath the steerage of trainer Lakmal de Silva. Ultimate time Richmond gained championship in 2014 with out taking part in a last fit. Aside from that that is the primary time Richmond gained the championship at a 3 day recreation at SSC.

Oshara Panditharatne the newly appointed Sri Lanka Colleges Cricket Affiliation President, SLC Home Cricket Secretary Suresh Bulankulame, Colleges Cricket Affiliation Vice President Thilak Watthuhewa and Colleges Cricket Secretary Leelananda Kumarasiri had been graced on the presentation rite and Richmond skipper Malsha Tharupathi gained champion trophy whilst Trinity skipper Manula Kularatne gained the runners up trophy .

Skipper Malsha Tharupathi who used to be the Nationwide beneath 19 vice captain mentioned they’re glad to win this name at SSC with a 3 day ultimate. “It is a new revel in and my gamers and training workforce headed by way of Lakmal de Silva gave wonderful improve and each groups performed just right cricket,” added Malsha Tharupathi.

Leader ratings

Trinity 203 all out and 254 for 8 wickets declared (Supun Waduge 96, Tharana Wimaladharma 57*)

Richmond 304 all out and 36 for 1 wicket at shut

Dhammika Ratnaweera

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles